Back to Home Page
Home MTN today Review of operations Sustainability review Corporate governance Annual financial statements Shareholders' information
Annual Report : Directorate   Next : Group Chief Executive Officer's report
Increase font size Decrease font size Print this page Email this page

MTN today - Contents



BProc, LLD (hc)
Non-Executive Director since 2001 (Independent)

Mr Ramaphosa is the Executive Chairman of Shanduka Group (Pty) Limited and serves as non-executive director to a number of other companies including SAB Miller plc, Standard Bank Group Limited and The Bidvest Group Limited. His previous positions include Chairperson of the Constitutional Assembly, Member of Parliament, Secretary General of the ANC and General Secretary of the National Union of Mineworkers.

back to top

2. PF NHLEKO (45)

BSc (Civil Eng), MBA
Executive Director since 2002

Mr Nhleko currently serves on the board of Old Mutual Life Holdings (SA) Limited. He has been a director on various boards of listed companies which include among others: Johnnic Holdings Limited, Nedcor Limited, The Bidvest Group Limited and Alexander Forbes Limited.

Prior to joining MTN he served at Standard Corporate Merchant Bank as a senior member of the corporate finance team (1991 to 1994). He was also the Executive Chairman and one of the founding members of Worldwide African Investment Holdings WAIH), an investment holding company with significant interests in the petroleum and telecommunications/IT industries.

back to top

3. DDB BAND (61)

BCom, CA(SA)
Non-Executive Director since 2001 (Independent)

Mr Band has had a varied business career rising to the position of Managing Director of CNA Gallo Limited in 1987. In 1990, he was appointed Chief Executive of The Argus Holdings Group, and in 1995 was appointed Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Premier Group Limited. In January 2000, he took up a position as a consultant to the Capital Investments Division of Standard Bank and he currently serves as a nonexecutive director on the boards of MNet/Supersport, Standard Bank Group, Tiger Brands Limited and The Bidvest Group Limited.

back to top

BSc (Eng), MBA
Executive Director since 2001

Mr Dabengwa currently has a dual role as Chief Operating Officer of the Group and Chief Executive Officer of MTN Nigeria. He also serves as a Non- Executive Director on the board of Peermont Global Limited.

Prior to joining MTN in 1999, he was employed by Eskom as Executive Director responsible for distribution. Before that he worked as a consulting electrical engineer in the building services and township development areas.

back to top

5. RD NISBET (50)
BCom, BAcc, CA(SA)
Executive Director since 2001

Mr Nisbet has been with MTN since 1995. Prior to joining MTN, he held various positions which include financial directorships of both listed and non-listed companies.

back to top

6. SL BOTHA (41)
Executive Director since 2003

Prior to joining MTN, Ms Botha was Group Executive Director at ABSA Bank. She was awarded Young Business Person of the Year 1998 and Marketer of the Year 2002. Prior to ABSA, she worked for Unilever (UK) for six years before returning to South Africa in 1996. She also serves on the board of Tiger Brands Limited.

back to top

MCom(Acc), CA(SA)
Non-Executive Director since 2004

Mr Strydom is a registered practising Public Accountant and Auditor and a founding partner of Strydoms Incorporated, Chartered Accountants (SA), a firm specialising in business valuations, litigation support and forensic investigations. He serves on the board of Growth Point Properties Limited and he is a director of the Public Investment Corporation Limited and a senior member of the Special Income Tax Court for taxation appeals.

back to top

8. I CHARNLEY (45)
Executive Director since 2001

Subsequent to year-end Ms Charnley took up the position as the Executive Vice-President for the Middle East, North and East Africa region (MENEA).

She was awarded Business Woman of the Year in 2000 and nominated as one of the top 50 businesswomen outside of the USA. She serves as a non-executive director on numerous boards of listed companies including Metropolitan Life Limited, FirstRand Bank Limited and Johnnic Holdings Limited.

back to top

9. ZNA CINDI (55)
Non-Executive Director since 1999 (Independent)

Mr Cindi has 17 years of trade union background as an Educator, Trustee and Chief Administrator for the Black Electrical and Electronics Workers’ Union and the Metal and Electrical Workers’ Union of SA. Other directorships in major companies are Community Growth Management Company and Setsing Financial Services.

back to top

Non-Executive Director since 2001 (Independent)

Mr Heinamann started in the insurance broking industry in 1960. He is a past President of the South African Insurance Brokers Association and Insurance Institute of South Africa. In September 1976, he joined what is now Alexander Forbes. Other major directorships include Guardrisk Holdings Limited, and non-executive Chairman of Alexander Forbes Limited.

back to top

11. MA MOSES (41)
Non-Executive Director since 2004 (Independent)

Ms Moses has extensive experience in the motor industry. She was Managing Director of the Premier Automotive Group, comprising Volvo, Jaguar and Land Rover. Prior to this she spent a number of years at BMW SA. She is an Executive of Transnet and is Chairperson of Viamax (Pty) Limited.

back to top

12. AF VAN BILJON (58)
Non-Executive Director since 2002 (Independent)

Mr van Biljon manages a specialised financial consultancy under the name of van Biljon and Associates. Mr van Biljon served as Chief Financial Officer to the Standard Bank Group from 1996 to 2002. He is on the boards of Peermont Global Limited and Alexander Forbes Limited.

back to top